whats a prestige car salesman's pay and reward

gb110430

I work in the financial services industry and regulation is tight and rightly so and I have to disclose how we are paid.

The car industry is obviously different but I wonder why we don't get told how much commission they make or how their pay is worked out.

firstly its of interest to me how a typical BMW, Audi, VW < merc salesman is paid. I assume its a basic , but how much money can you get paid on top for each car sold?? what are typical salaries???

I wouldnt mind moving into car sales as I work in sales already and it cant get tougher than the industry i work in now!

cheers

• Replies 67
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I think you've sort of answered your own question when you say you wonder why you're not told what the salesman's commission is. In your industry you are forced to disclose that, in most others you aren't and I don't think you can really expect people to openly talk about that if they don't have to.

[ QUOTE ]

oh thats fine... but what is their salary and package like????

[/ QUOTE ]

Not sure to be honest. But, from what I do know it varies from terrible to pretty good - I suppose that's like a lot of sales type positions? Maybe the fact that unlike in your current industry, you don't need to be professionally qualified to sell cars won't help to command great basic salaries? I know it's possible to make very good money from the commission, but the basic can be poor.

I'm sure someone who knows a lot more about will be along to give some better info. 169144-ok.gif

Edited to add: I just did a quick Google search for 'prestige car sales OTE' and the results that came up indicated a basic of £10-15k with OTEs of anywhere between £25k and £75k.

No idea about the UK, but BMW salesmen in New Jersey make $100,000 in a decent year.... average is probably about $80k.

Comissions and Sales Bonuses, but you have to work nights and weekends.